Lucky Seven

So, I check the corporate inbox today, and, lo and behold, I find that the Ralpha Dogs have been tagged for the “Seven Things” blog game by Tony the Weekend Warrior.  Of course, this begs the question…which of the Ralpha Dogs did he tag?  Three people run this blog, and he could have meant any of them.  Oh well, as one of the Abbots, I must set a good example for the corporation, and volunteer myself for the task.

Briefly restated, here are the rules of this game:

  • Link to the original tagger(s), and list these rules on your blog.
  • Share 7 facts about yourself in the post; some random, some weird.
  • Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names and the links to their blogs.
  • Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their blogs and/or Twitter.

Are you sitting comfortably?  Then I’ll  begin.

  1. In high school, I played on the school Academic Team for two years running.  If you’ve ever seen “College Bowl” on TV, that’s like what it is; we sat up on stage with little “Jeopardy” buzzers and tried to answer questions for points.  I was originally enticed to do so by the promise of meeting author Ray Bradbury, but I grew to enjoy it, especially since I was part of what, if we were a hockey team, would be the “top line.”
  2. More high school antics: I was voted as a member of the Homecoming Court in my freshman year, in what was no doubt intended as a joke (because I was, after all, a geek).  However, I upheld the role admirably, and later gave a phone interview to the school’s “underground” newspaper about my experience.  The girl who was elected Princess alongside me became a good friend of mine.
  3. I have an ex-wife in Finland, of all places.  She’s not a native Finn; she went there to go to college shortly after we divorced, and in fact, the purpose of our divorce was to enable her to do so.  She is, however, now remarried to a native Finn.  I’ve met the guy she’s now married to, who visited us the winter before she left; he’s a fine young man, in my view.
  4. I almost had wealth in my grasp in the dot-com era; I had vested options in the company I was working for, which, if I had managed to exercise them, could have netted me a few tens of thousands of dollars.  However, I waited too long, and was caught by the dot-com crash.  Those options are long gone; they disappeared when I was laid off from that company the following year.
  5. In my professional life, I work with supercomputing cluster systems–a job which has given me more of an appreciation for the architecture of server systems like Tranquility (and the Second Life Grid).
  6. Interesting college anecdote: One evening I got a call from a couple of my friends asking if I wanted to go to a bar with them.  The catch was–as I found out later–we were flying to that bar, in a Piper Cherokee owned by the university’s Flying Club, of which one of those friends was president.  It was actually a fun little trip along the coast, and it helped my friend stay current on his pilot’s license.
  7. My hair is brown, with a few gray hairs starting to appear…except for one patch on the top of my head, which is all gray.  That marks the spot where a birthmark was on my head when I was born.  The gray patch actually started appearing in high school, and I got my share of ribbing about being a “punker.”

As this meme seems to have blown through most of the EVE blogging community, I won’t specifically “tag” anybody.  However, my blog co-authors are invited to post their own lists after mine…

UPDATE: Selena has been kind enough to post about herself.

5 Responses to “Lucky Seven”

  1. Selenalore Says:

    lmao. Not bloody likely love :). hehe 🙂 but then hell who knows I might :).

  2. Oh comeone 😉

  3. selenalore Says:

    There isn’t a lot about me. I’m very dull 🙂

  4. selenalore Says:

    Well I’ll have to have Erbo help me later then. I don’t know how to link things like names and such to blogging. I’m still very new at this thing.

  5. And that’s why you gotta keep trying 😉

Leave a Reply

